DiSanto Announces Safe Schools Grants for Area Schools

Harrisburg – Senator John DiSanto (Dauphin/Perry) today announced local recipients of competitive 2019-2020 Safe Schools Targeted Grants.

Grants are awarded to schools to prevent and reduce violent incidents, to purchase safety and security-related equipment, and to provide for the training and compensation of school resource and police officers.

DiSanto said the following grants were awarded for the purchase of safety and security-related equipment:

  • Derry Township School District                                               $24,297
  • Sylvan Heights Charter School                                                 $23,074
  • Upper Dauphin Area School District                                         $7,072
  • Bishop McDevitt High School                                                 $25,000
  • Joan of Arc School                                                                     $21,910

Safe Schools grants are aimed at reducing unnecessary student disciplinary actions and promoting an environment of greater productivity, safety and learning. Funds can also be used for enhancing anti-violence efforts between schools and parents, local governments, law enforcement and community organizations.

“Our local schools will use these Safe Schools grants to purchase the equipment they need to boost school security,” said DiSanto. “A safe learning environment promotes educational achievement, and I am very pleased to announce this assistance.”

CONTACT: Chuck Erdman cerdman@pasen.gov (717) 787-6801

Back to Top